The Sweet Spot
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Sweet Spot

INFORMATION concerning sugar glider health and husbandry matters

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Different Types of Necropsies

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Anita Rae

Anita Rae

Different Types of Necropsies Empty
PostSubject: Different Types of Necropsies   Different Types of Necropsies Icon_minitimeWed Dec 30, 2009 9:55 am

I am not an expert on this. Actually this is stuff that I am just learning.

Necropsy: This is usually done in the office by the Veterinarian. They simply open the body cavity up and examine the organs to see if there is anything that stands out as the cause of death.

I don’t think most Veterinarians normally examine the brain, but they can if you ask.

It is important to me that I take my pet home for burial. With this procedure some vets will sew them back up so that you can take them home.

Histopathology: In this procedure the Veterinarian takes samples of various organs and ships them off to a lab. The lab looks at the organs under a microscope looking for things them might not have been visible in the normal necropsy.

In this procedure, your pet can also be sewn up and returned to you for burial if you and your Veterinarian both agree to it.

Ok, I know there is more but someone other than me will have to fill in the blanks. You can also correct anything that I don’t have correct.
Back to top Go down
http://www.atticworx.com/index.htm
Something_To_Believe_In
Associate
Something_To_Believe_In

PostSubject: Re: Different Types of Necropsies   Different Types of Necropsies Icon_minitimeWed Dec 30, 2009 3:43 pm